January 8, 2019
46th annual awards special winners

46th annual Landscape Ontario Awards of Excellence winners

Recognizing the best of the best in Ontario

award winning landscape

Dunington-Grubb Award 2019

Awarded to: Dutch Touch Landscaping Inc.
This award goes to the most outstanding and highest overall scoring project in the various construction categories.  
award winning landscape

Casey van Maris Award 2019

Awarded to: Pro-Land Landscape Construction
Design by: Eden Tree Design
In 1997, Landscape Ontario lost one of its most influential and respected members: Mr. Casey van Maris, a founder of the association. To honour his legacy, Landscape Ontario developed an award which, to this day, upholds Casey’s values in the pursuit of excellence. The Casey van Maris award is given to the project awarded the highest marks for execution of unique and innovative design in landscaping.  
award winning landscape

Don Salivan Grounds Management Award 2019

Awarded to: Yorkshire Garden Services Inc.
This award recognizes skill, that when properly executed, protects or even enhances the value of the original landscape investment. The winner is selected from all projects submitted in the maintenance program.  

Special awards 2019

Chapter Achievement Award 2019
Presented to: Richard Burch
This individual has demonstrated consistent volunteerism and significant contributions to their respective chapter over a period of many years.

Environmental Award
Presented to: Brian Brisbin
This award goes to an organization or individual for outstanding contributions and achievement in maintaining or promoting a sustainable, healthy environment. This award provides an opportunity for the landscape and horticulture profession in Ontario to recognize environmental stewardship and leadership.
Garden Communicator’s Award 2019
Presented to: Paul Zammit
Given to a writer or broadcaster who has consistently produced a high level of quality in the field of horticulture through his or her efforts in communication. Candidates include those who communicate to the general public or the trade on a regular basis.
Honourary Lifetime Award 2019
Presented to: Robert Allen
Presented to: Jim Bauer
This is the highest honour bestowed by Landscape Ontario and is presented to distinguished individuals of outstanding accomplishment and contribution to the horticultural industry or association. It is reserved only for those members who have consistently contributed their time, passion, enthusiasm and energy over a period of many years. Those who are given this tribute have committed a lifetime to furthering the mission of Landscape Ontario.
Horticulture Educator/Partner of the Year 2019        
Presented to: Lisa Ambaye
This award recognizes someone who made significant contributions to furthering the educational mission and purpose within the horticultural community. 
Legacy Award 2019
Presented to: Phil Dickie
This award was created in 2005 to recognize a lifetime of achievement in the horticulture industry. This award is given to those who not only impart their knowledge on the people around them, but who also leave something for the generations behind them.
Past Presidents' Award 2019
Presented to: Michael LaPorte
A committee of three past presidents of Landscape Ontario present this award to an individual who, over many years, has made outstanding contributions to the association.

Prosperity Partners Leadership Award 2019
Presented to: Lindsay Drake Nightingale
Presented to: Gabriel Matamoros
Presented to: Lindsey Ross
Presented to: Garry Reisky
Presented to: Janet Mott
Presented to: Christine Moffit
Presented to: John Larsen
This award is presented to an outstanding individual that has worked through the Prosperity Partners Program and has demonstrated business leadership using the five pillars of the prosperity partnership model. Recipients are selected by the Prosperity Partnership Committee.
richard burch, recipient of the 2019 Chapter achievement award, with Phil Dickie
three men on stage. middle holding an award

Michael LaPorte (centre), accepts the 2019 Past President's Award.

The Awards of Excellence ceremony is made possible through the generosity of our Presenting Partner: G&L Group, and Supporting Partners: Connon CBV Holdings and DynaSCAPE Software.

Thank you to all of our judges and special presenters. Additional thanks goes to...
AV Canada
Connon CBV Holdings
Delta Hotels Toronto Airport
DynaSCAPE Software
G&L Group
Ikonik Inc
Perfect Sphere Productions

Top scoring winners will be entered into the National Awards of Excellence Program. 
See CanadaNursery.com for more information.