August 3, 2022
Metrolina Greenhouses named 2022 Grower of the Year

Metrolina Greenhouses named 2022 Grower of the Year

Metrolina Greenhouses has been awarded the title of International Grower of the Year (IGOTY) 2022 by the International Association of Horticultural Producers (AIPH).

The coveted ‘Gold Rose’ award was presented to Metrolina Greenhouses by Royal FloraHolland CEO, Steven van Schilfgaarde, at the AIPH IGOTY Awards 2022 on June 14, 2022 at GreenTech Amsterdam. The Huntersville, N.C.-based ornamentals grower also won Gold in the Finished Plants and Trees category.

Now in its 12th year, the IGOTY Awards recognize best practices in horticulture by the top ornamental production nurseries from around the globe, celebrating the expertise and energy they give to horticulture.

Established in 1972 by Tom and Vickie Van Wingerden, Metrolina Greenhouses has grown to employ over 3,000 people. Their two locations in the United States comprise 528 acres of growing space. They grow and deliver live plants to over 1,400 retail outlets on the east coast of the U.S., maintaining a focus on quality, innovation, and sustainability.

“It’s a great testament to our whole team, all 3,000 of our employees, everybody back in America, who made this possible. This Gold Rose is indicative of all the work everybody put in,” said Abe van Wingerden, co-CEO of Metrolina Greenhouses.

Tim Edwards, chair of the awards jury which comprises six internationally renowned horticulture experts, commented: “The judges were enormously impressed by Metrolina Greenhouses, a company that started 50 years ago and has grown to an impressive size while managing the difficult passage from one generation to the next. While still boasting the credentials of a ‘family business’, this highly-efficient horticultural operation is clearly driven by a need to innovate and improve at every level.”

Other IGOTY 2022 category winners are:

Gold: Wagagai, Uganda
Silver: Jens Meyer Jungpflanzen, Germany

Gold: Metrolina Greenhouses, USA
Silver: Bunnik Group Bv., Netherlands
Bronze: Brookdale Treeland Nurseries, Canada

Gold: Matina Flowers S. A. S, Colombia
Silver: Prim’rose (SCA Clementine), Morocco
Bronze: Luxaflor Roses, Zimbabwe

Gold: Brookdale Treeland Nurseries, Canada
Silver: Wagagai, Uganda
Bronze: Sitio Kolibri, Brazil

Winner: Pablo Bazzani, Plazoleta Flowers, Colombia
Finalist: Matyas Bartha, Silver Vase, USA
Finalist: Chris Rocheleau, ForemostCo USA