October 15, 2010
The largest participation ever for certification testing in the Ottawa area saw 29 candidates taking part.

The Sept. 16 and 17 event took place at Kemptville College. “The Ottawa Chapter should be congratulated on its dedication and volunteerism, which is what made the certification test day such a success,” said Rachel Cerelli, project coordinator for Landscape Ontario

The Ottawa Chapter now has several new CLTs, but data must be confirmed before names are announced.

 The predicted rain held off and the weather co-operated to ensure that the 2010 Landscape Industry Certification event was a success. The participants wrote their exams on Thursday, with the practical exams on Friday.

The 24 judges, led by Jeff Lowartz CLT, provincial certification chair, and Kennedy Johnston CLT, eastern Ontario certification chair, evaluated the students at the stations throughout the day. The event was led by Rachel Cerelli, with support from Sally Harvey CLT, CLP from the Milton home office, and Martha Walsh, Ottawa Chapter coordinator.

The new Kemptville College Horticultural Program coordinator Claude Smith organized for the students currently enrolled in the Kemptville Horticultural program, a guided tour of the stations was led by Kennedy Johnston.

Landscape Ontario and the Ottawa Chapter acknowledge the following members and companies that sponsored and donated time to CLT Kemptville 2010: Echo, Geosynthetic Systems, Stihl, Walker Mowers, Battlefield Equipment, Garden Creations, Exmark, Greely Sand and Gravel, Cullen Landscaping, Peter Knippel, Connon Nurseries CBV, B&T McFarlane, Carrier and Porrier, Ritchie Feed and Seed, Greenscape, Manderly Sod, Precision Landscape Group, Bytowne Lawn Repair, Lindsay Landscapes, Ganden Landscape, Yates Custom Lawn Sprinklers, RJ Rogers Landscaping, Thornbusch Landscaping Company, Clintar Landscape Management — Ottawa, Hirsig Landscapes, Rockliffe Landscaping and Fraser Wilson.

Appreciation is given to the following individuals who volunteered their time as judges: Dan Clost CHT, Rick Mowry CIT, Will Winsor, Darrell Kekanovich CHT, CLT-S, Stephen Anderson, Trevor Cullen CHT, Diana Dawson, Albert Jerome, Richard Rogers CHT, Paul Doornbos CHT, CLP, Phil Lindsay CHT, Kent Peddie, Ryan Kearney CHT, CLT-THS, Stephen Barkers, Andrew Thompson CHT, Rodney Monteith, David Stewart CHT, Sonja Hirsig CHT, Chad Smail CHT, CIT, Fraser Wilson, Jeff Lowartz CHT  and Kennedy Johnston CHT.  

“The co-operation of all the individuals and member companies who sponsored and volunteered their time made for a successful event.  Thank you to everyone who participated,” said Cerelli. Stay tuned for the confirmation of dates for the 2011 Ottawa certification.