July 15, 2009
On Apr. 8, the Ontario Heritage Trust and Mississauga mayor Hazel McCallion and council presented Mississauga’s Heritage Tree Subcommittee with the Ontario Heritage Trust’s Certificate achievement award.  

 The subcommittee was recognized for its dedication to preserve natural heritage. Members of the Heritage Tree Subcommittee wrote the Mississauga Heritage Tree proposals, which recommend a Mississauga heritage tree protection bylaw and a tree recognition project. Members of the subcommittee were Councillor George Carlson, Bernie Hu, Matthew Wilkinson, Peter Dmytrasz, Don McDiarmid, Min Ku Kim, Peter Lyons and Gay Peppin (chair).