May 15, 2010
The Sports Turf Association (STA) presented a honorary life membership to Jane Arnett, in recognition of her “outstanding contributions to the turfgrass industry.”

Arnett joined the STA in 1991, and within three years was elected to the board of directors. Her service on various committees and enthusiasm as a director resulted in being named vice-president in 1998, then as president in 2000 and past-president in 2002. She continued to serve as a director until 2009, when a new, more demanding position with the Town of Oakville cut into her time to serve effectively.

During the 18 years as a member of the association, she served for one or more terms as a member of the OTS program committee, the field day committee, and the editorial committees for the Sports Turf Manager, Understanding Turf Management and Athletic Field Construction Manual. In addition, she authored several articles for the Sports Turf Manager.

She commenced her career with the Town of Oakville as a cemetery operator in 1987. She quickly moved into various positions in parks maintenance, and is now senior manager of parks operations.

There have been only six recipients of the prestigious award in the STA’s 23 year history. Arnett joins James Boyce (1989), Norman Rothwell (1989), Clayton Switzer (1992), Robert Sheard (1998), Michael Bladon (2000) and Christopher Mark (2005).